God created Arrakis to train the faithful

I have no idea if 2014 was a good year or not. I mean, how do you compare events? One big bad event equals two small good events? How do you balance those scales?

And what if they don’t balance?

So, this might be the year that I give up on deciding if a year was good or bad. Because, as bleak as this may sound, there’s not enough good to make up for any amount of bad.

Instead, this is the year when I finally started to realize that the suffering of this life has meaning. At my best, I can see how God is using my suffering to make me into the kind of person that I really want to be. And, apparently, this is what it takes.

In the novel Dune, the desert-dwelling Fremen have a saying about their harsh planet: God created Arrakis to train the faithful. There’s something necessary about the desert. In the wasteland, you discover what really matters. In the desert, you truly find yourself.

And in the world to come, there will be no desert. But now is the time for endurance, to let the harsh winds of this life sculpt me into something worthy of that coming age.

Happy New Year, everyone.

One response to “God created Arrakis to train the faithful

Leave a Reply

