Taking a break from social media

On Labor Day, I returned from a retreat and found myself inundated in noise. Some of it was, doubtless, my fatigue. But I found myself feeling easily overwhelmed by too much input.

So, in a sudden fit, I decided to tune out of social media.

It made sense in the moment. The constant flood of input, which normally felt quite satisfying, just had to go. So I pushed it to the side.

It’s been two weeks now, and I’m finding that I’m not missing it. Oh, I’ve logged in to attend a virtual art show and to manage the event for our upcoming dance party. But I haven’t been reading my feeds on any social media.

It’s been oddly freeing. I’m not importing drama into my life, which is good for me. Nor am I constantly checking my feeds reflexively, which I know is good for me. It’s also reduced my random article intake, which is a mixed blessing. On the one hand, I’m reading fewer random blog articles, which reduces my input further. On the other hand, I haven’t yet replaced that habit with deeper reading, so there’s that.

I don’t know if this will be a permanent state of affairs. I go through cycles of expansion and purging, especially in the electronic world. But for now,

Leave a Reply

