I’m proud of my kids

November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). This is a crazy event that encourages people to write a novel. 50,000 words. In one month.

That’s 1667 words a day. No time to edit. Barely time to think. Just time to write. It’s pretty intense.

So, I was proud when Arianna came to me tonight and told me that she had finished. Yep, my fifteen-year old daughter just wrote her first novel.

Will this be her breakout novel that changes the world? Probably not (though you never know). But what this meant is that Arianna dedicated herself to an intense period of writing. She gave up other opportunities in order to be able to write instead. She showed discipline and focus. And you know what? It worked. And that’s huge.

But that’s not the only thing that’s happened this week that makes me proud of my kids.

Today I heard that Samuel (age 12) was working on taking care of Crystal by convincing her that she needed to be resting when feeling yucky instead of being up and trying to do work.

Earlier this week, I discussed video game design with Noah (age 9), who is working on his own game.

Justice (age 8) is experimenting with Adobe After Effects and green screen camera work.

Hope (age 4) held her own against me tonight in a game of Jenga, which she wanted to play, and when the tower fell, she took it in stride happily.

And, maybe most of all, on Sunday, after the tornadoes came through the nearby towns of Pekin and Washington, Isaac (age 13) shared his life ambition with me. Four years ago, when we were displaced from our home due to a fire, he decided that he wanted to make a lot of money when he is older so that he will be able to help others who were in need.

Lord only knows how, but I think they’re turning out well. And they make me so proud.

Leave a Reply

