A thought on productivity on the anniversary of my mother’s death

(Two blog posts on the same day? What madness is this?!?)

When my mother died, there were still things on her to-do list.

I mean this literally, because we found it on her desk. She was doing work in the garden that she never finished.

And yet, her funeral was packed full of people whose lives she had touched. People in the church. People in the neighborhood. People in the larger community.

Sometimes we pit “getting things done” against engaging with people. And yes, there are tasks to accomplish and chores to finish and reports to write and all the rest.

But have they become your goal? Or are they the way that you focus your efforts on engaging with people? And would the people around you know?

Your to-do list will not be at your funeral. Who do you want to be there?

One response to “A thought on productivity on the anniversary of my mother’s death

  • Elizabeth Otulakowski

    I remember there being so many people there weren’t enough chairs for everyone. I’ve found that I’m falling into “must get the To Do list done” mentality. When I die I want people to say “She loved God and she loved those around her.”

Leave a Reply

