Just some rambling stream of consciousness nonsense

So, this is coming to you live from my iPad and a Bluetooth keyboard. Not an Apple Bluetooth keyboard because…well…there are some design fails on the Apple keyboard, mostly involving the power switch.

But I wanted to write tonight. I felt the itch to be creative and, honestly, this was the quickest hit I could find.

So I’m just going to write for a little bit, and we’ll see what happens, okay?

GenCon is this weekend, and I may have finally put that particular spectre to rest. Well, a bit. 😉 I’m not sitting around, regretting that I’m not there. So, that’s good.

Instead, Crystal and I are getting away for an evening. Yay! I’ve been looking forward to this for months, and it’ll finally happen.

There are parts of me that actually want to start creating again. I don’t know exactly how to do that right now, but I’m going to. Uh, soon. But writing is where I’m starting. So, really, this blog post is part of my attempt to start designing games again. (Squint and you’ll see it.)

In late September, we’re going to start looking into what it’ll take to produce Showdown. In my head, it’s in a small box, similar to The Resistance or the Fantasy Flight Silver Line games. We’ll see, though. There’s probably a Kickstarter (or the like) in my future to fund production costs. Be checking this space for more details, as they become available.

I need to start scheduling times to write. I think that the discipline of showing up to write will help me work on other things.

Part of what’s odd is that my social context has changed. I’m suddenly surrounded by more people, but by fewer gamers. I’ve always designed into my social context, so I’m not totally sure exactly how to design. Who’s my audience? I need to figure that out. Or, maybe, experiment.

There’s part of me that wants to design a “hyperlink cinema” game, similar to the movies Crash, Magnolia, or certain aspects of The Wire. I love stories about our interconnectness, and I’d love to make a game about that. I feel like maybe I need something more in there, though. Dunno.

I continue to DJ. I played for my sister Elizabeth’s birthday party, which we held. DJing wasn’t part of the original plan, but she requested it, and who am I to say no? The fact that it was somewhat my party too meant that I played more dubstep than I might have otherwise. If it’s my party, then I can play my music, right?

Next party is in September. I’ve discovered several bass remixes of songs from the 60s, like “Respect”, “Eleanor Rigby”, and even “What a Wonderful World”. I’m sure I’ll be dropping those at the next party.

I’m also really looking forward to the new Netrunner, which released today at GenCon. A copy is working its way towards my house.

Last night I couldn’t sleep, so I finished reading Cloud Atlas. What a delightful book! I’m not sure if there are deeper meanings set into the book, but I just enjoyed the trip and all the little references and asides in the text. I’m honestly not sure what I’m going to read next. Nothing floating around me seems to have quite the same oomph. Ah well.

I owe the world a blog post about Brave, but I’m going to wait a few days.

I’m enjoying typing into my iPad with the keyboard. It feels like a nice compromise between using the touchscreen, which can work but is a little iffy at times, and actually getting out the laptop, which feels large and clunky. Yeah, what kind of world is it where a laptop is just too big?

Anyways, I’m not even sure if anyone will read this far through all the rambly disjointed comments (and congrats if you did), but hopefully this will lead to more consistent writing on my part. You know, writing of a more concrete, useful variety.

One response to “Just some rambling stream of consciousness nonsense

Leave a Reply

