Ambitions

I was talking to my father yesterday about my ambitions. I’ve realized that my ambitions have changed.

Once, I would have wanted to write a book or plant a church or build something great to change the world. Or, maybe, I would make some amazing principled stand, like Martin Luther, that would go down in history.

But no more. My ambitions are much smaller now.

I’d like to sit on my porch with a beer and watch my neighbors walking by and be able to greet them by name, because I know them, and they know me.

That’s it, really. That’s my ambition right now. But, as I sit on my porch right now and write, I find that I’m already on my way towards that ambition. I’m starting to know my neighbors, and they’re starting to know me.

And, honestly, I do think that, somehow, God uses such small ambitions to change the world.

3 responses to “Ambitions

  • Adiel

    I couldn’t agree more. This is something I’m learning to be okay with as well.

  • jon

    Good luck in your venture. Your goals seem quite noble, and may God teach you much through that experience.

    Just file this in the back of your head for later:
    God sometimes even uses people with big ambitions to achieve his goals.

  • Zach

    I like your thinking. As I left church last night after a (way too long) practice, I saw some of the neighbors sitting outside in the 90 degree heat (at 9:00pm) and I wished that I knew them. Hopefully pretty soon I will.

Leave a Reply

