A little thunder-related humor

Tuesday night I was awakened from a sound slumber by a thunderclap over my house. It sounded like an explosion in the sky. I jolted out of my sleep, dazed and confused.

Wednesday night I decided was going to be a catch-up night for sleep. My plan was to settle in relatively early and sleep through the night. I specifically said that I wouldn’t be awakened by thunder.

Wednesday night I was awakened from a sound slumber by a thunderclap over my house. And then the dog got me up, claiming that she needed to…er…relieve herself outside. And then she realized that it was raining and wanted to get back inside so she could pee on the dry floor instead.

Sigh.

Thursday morning I was a bit groggy. As I staggered around, getting ready for work, I considered what had happened. I thought of various “spiritual” reasons. You know, learning humility and all that. And that may be true. But I came up with another possible reason.

Sometimes I’ll hide around a corner and wait for one of my children to walk nearby. Then I jump out and scare him. Invariably the child jumps and screams and then we laugh together.

I wonder if God was pranking me on Wednesday night.

It was pretty funny….

Leave a Reply

