The Biblical Case for Covenant Baptism [Introduction]

Today the Peiffer children were baptized. Last night, David messed his diaper. These two facts are connected.

So, it was the hymn sing, and Joshua and I were looking around for a place to change the respective diapers of our respective children. We ended up working on two different landings of the Evans’ house. Joshua then suggested an assembly line. Maybe I could wipe, while he diapered.

I objected. I don’t change diapers for other people’s children.

Joshua countered. Don’t I believe in bearing one another’s burdens? (Galatians 6:2)

I fell back. Sure, I would bear Joshua’s burden, but that’s not the same as his child’s diaper.

Joshua moved in for the finishing blow. David is going to be baptized tomorrow. Doesn’t that matter in this conversation?

I yielded the point. Because he’s right. Now that David is baptized, his messy diaper is my burden.

This results in a profound theological point: because of baptism, your crap is my crap.

(The title is a tweak to the author of this blog post. Lots of love, Joshua!)

One response to “The Biblical Case for Covenant Baptism [Introduction]

Leave a Reply

