Pray for Jason

Those of you who know me, know that I’m fairly opposed to the war in Iraq. Indeed, I tend to be opposed to foreign adventures just on general principle. War is a serious thing, and I take it very seriously. It consumes all who are near, without mercy or pity. This is true, even with a justifiable war, and so I insist that there be moral clarity before pursuing this ultimate political act.

But I’m not going to argue about the war here. And, FYI, I will delete any comments that try to debate this point with me. You Have Been Warned.

Instead, I want to talk about something else.

My friend Jason is being deployed. He leaves tomorrow for training and then, in a couple of months, he will be heading to Iraq. That means that he is heading into the maelstrom, being sent into harm’s way.

Pray for him. Pray for the safety of his soul. Pray for the safety of his body. Pray that he would reach out with the love of Christ, as a true solder of Jesus. Pray that he would be brave in fulfilling his duty. Pray that he would show mercy to the weak and compassion to the downtrodden. Pray that he will still be faithful to Jesus, even when undergoing the fires of adversity. And pray that he would return home to his family and his church.

Godspeed, Jason. Come back soon.

2 responses to “Pray for Jason

  • Jeremy Beach

    Amen.

    Although I’ve known men who have been soldiers, this is the first time I’ve known someone who is about to be deployed to a war zone. I know that Jesus will protect Jason, but yet I’m having a hard time not being anxious for him. I haven’t had a lot of time to get to know Jason, but I know him well enough to care deeply about him and will be praying for his safe return.

  • A Dark And Quiet Room » Jason's blog

    […] an earlier post, I talked about Jason. Well, he has started a blog. So, if you want to keep tabs on him, you can do so […]

Leave a Reply

