Intestines

Following up on my previous thought.

On Sunday, Crystal was talking to me about the wonders of the human body. She loves biology and anatomy, and she was waxing eloquent about the amazing deeds that God has done in creating our bodies.

Then I commented, “I find it very disturbing that I have intestines.”

Of course, I wasn’t just talking about intestines. I was talking about all the stuff that is inside us. Hard stuff like bones or cartilage. Squishy stuff like organs and muscles and, yes, intestines. I was thinking about the pictures that you see of people torn open during war. I was thinking of the glimpse I had of my wife’s uterus after a Caesarian.

Recently, Crystal was reading a book on “body types”, which included personality issues as well as health issues. One of the questions that you needed to answer was, “Do you see yourself as a body with a spirit, or as a spirit with a body?” This is a surprisingly insightful question. It doesn’t quite map to the Myers-Briggs Extroversion/Introversion division, but it is related, I think.

Anyways, I think of myself as a spirit with a body. I mean, check out the opening paragraph. “…amazing deeds that God has done in creating our bodies.

Not, “…in creating us.” Because, somehow, my body is separate from me.

That’s not really what it is. It’s more that my body is an extension of me, but it’s not really me.

This extends to how I view sickness. Sickness is an external force that is attacking me. You go to a doctor, because he can pierce the veil and look across the battlefield at the oncoming force. The idea that the sickness is inside someone really bothers me somehow.

I’m not really sure if I have a point here. Once, I might have, but now I think I lost it.

Except that I’m really grateful that Jesus took on a body, with all the funky squishy bits, and was filled with poop for me. And I mean that seriously and with the highest respect. One of the prerogatives of being God that He laid aside was the right to be free of having to use the bathroom. If you consider how we are captive to our intestines, you will also be filled with gratitude at this act of grace to His people.

And now, I’d better go.

3 responses to “Intestines

  • Joshua

    Very insightful and timely, especially now as I’m sitting here with a tummy ache and other related issues.

  • Seth Ben-Ezra

    Still? Ugh. I’m sorry to hear that, Joshua.

  • molliegreene

    i totally hear you there. i remember the disappointing day i learned that my body did not have elves carrying nutrients up and down ladders to where they needed to go, making my eyelids open, my heart beat. the reality was just too much. i still can’t believe that the insides of me are actually mine. the pics from lola’s surgical birth blow my mind because i was totally there and that was me, but it can’t be me! but it is me. freaky.

    anyway, good thoughts here. hope you all are well.

Leave a Reply

