Paul Tevis says nice things about Dirty Secrets

I had heard rumors that award-winning podcaster Paul Tevis was talking up Dirty Secrets when they were recording at GenCon. That episode of the Voice of the Revolution has been released, and now I can say that the rumors are correct. They start talking about Dirty Secrets at 5:00.

Some good quotes:

“I really liked it.”

“If you like The Maltese Falcon, The Big Sleep, any of those noir detective stories, I think that it does it better than anything I’ve seen, because it really does take the element of trying to discover information out of it and it becomes much more a game about relationships and morality.”

“For me, it is the new hotness. That’s probably because I love the genre, but I think that it’s a very interesting approach. And because, in Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, that style, it’s really about the investigator and the moral journey that the investigator goes through upon encountering this just terrible situation, and that is very well modeled by this game.”

Dirty Secrets gets a big thumbs up from me.”

That’s not the only boost that Paul gave me during GenCon. On Friday, while I was demoing the game, Paul bounded up to the table and exclaimed, “This game is hot!”

Also, on the podcast, the hosts discussed Esoterrorists. So I’ll mention that, on Saturday, I talked briefly with Robin Laws, designer of Esoterrorists and the GUMSHOE System, and he contrasted his work with Dirty Secrets. Very cool.

So, thanks for the kind words, Paul!

Leave a Reply

