Ben, this one is for you

“Since the end of official hostilities, numerous attempts have been made to document the Zombie War. World War Z is the definitive account of the technological, military, social, economic, and political details as told through survivors’ stories of how civilization went from the brink of extinction to a universal victory against the living dead.”

Thanks for the link, Bryan.

10 responses to “Ben, this one is for you

  • Benjamin Best

    Thanks, Buddy! I’ll definitely have to check it out. I still think that there is much theologizing that can be drawn from the zombie genre.

    BTW, the screenplay is coming along. Many stops and starts. Write a little. Think think think think. Write a little. Think. Change. Well, you know how it goes. The dreams that come with the writing are bizarre though…

  • Raquel

    I’m going to have to be perturbed now–according the quiz I only have a 38% chance of surviving after the Zombie War. Is it my fault I live in the middle of the city instead of hiding out in a nice little self-sufficient and defensible country place?

  • Seth Ben-Ezra

    Ben, you know that I agree! And I can imagine that the dreams are weird. Drop me a line sometime. I know that I still owe you a defense of fiction-writing, too.

  • Jeremy Beach

    Woohoo! Living in the city seems to be an advantage for me, mostly because of my craptastic, but life-saving, domicile known as the apartments above the One World Cafe. Normally living in a building where all the windows are encased by brickwalls and where one has to kick through several doors to get to the shoddy fire escape is a bad thing, but in the event of a Zombie War, I might as well be living in a fortress. We’re even above the snowline!!! With all of these mighty defenses, my survival chances are a whopping 39%, ever so slightly better than my neighbor from Orange Street.

  • Jeremy Beach

    Oh yeah, when I referred to the windows being encased by brickwalls, I’m not talking about them simply being set in brick. Rather, our windows face a brickwall from the building that is adjacent to One World. The space between these buildings can’t be any wider than twelve inches. Additionally, the space is mostly zombie proof because it’s closed in. A zombie would have to climb to the roof of either building and lower itself down into the space between the adjoining buildings or somehow get into the building next door and smash through a couple windows to get into my room. Fortunately, I’ve already begun zombie proofing my room by keeping a coffee mug on hand that has an image of the Virgin Mary in the dried coffee sludge caked in the bottom of the mug.

  • Seth Ben-Ezra

    As I recall, I earned a 36% chance of survival.

    I also find it vaguely disconcerting that this is the biggest discussion on this blog for quite some time.

  • Gabrielle

    Well, if ever the zombies attack I can say that I am most likely dead. I had a 30 % chance of survival. It was probably the fact that I would be escaping with a group larger than ten that really pushed me over the survival line. So people, if ever the zombies attack let me just say now, because we’ll be busy then, it has been nice knowing all of you.

    And yes, Seth, it is disconcerting that this is the biggest discussion for some time.

  • Jeremy Beach

    Gabrielle, now that you’re beginning to see the folly of your ways, I recommend becoming a hate-filled loner like me. It keeps you zombie safe, and if you find this new lifestyle to be too lonely, you can always join up with the zombies. It’d be like joining your local American Legion or Shriners Club.

  • dlr

    Who are you people? And what have you done with my friends?

Leave a Reply

